Skip to main content

Neighborhoods: Landmarks

As Mike Bloomberg worked to grow New York City, he has also made historic preservation a priority. The Landmarks Preservation Commission created and extended 40 historic districts from 2002 to 2013, the most designations of any mayoral administration since the Commission was founded decades ago.

  • From 2002 to 2013, 43 historic districts were created and extended.
  • 23 new districts and extensions were made outside of Manhattan.
  • Increased capacity and efficiency of the agency by forming a FasTrack team which enabled 30% of the permit applications handled by the office to be expedited.

Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC)

43 Historic Districts and Extensions Created

Under the Bloomberg administration, the LPC created 43 historic districts and extensions, more than any other administration since the commission was founded in 1965.

Five Borough Approach

Of the new districts and extensions, 23 are outside of Manhattan.

Landmarked Properties

From 2002 to 2013, 8,073 properties were landmarked. In 2013, there were a total of 31,400 landmark properties across New York City.

Prospect Heights Historic District

Approved in 2010, the new district – which comprises 850 buildings – is the largest historic district formed since 1990.

FasTrack Team

LPC created a new team to work exclusively on the most commonly issued permits, enabling the agency to expedite 30% of the applications received each year.

New Rules Accelerate Permitting

The Commission enacted new rules for solar panels, storefronts and signage that allow more work to be approved by staff rather than requiring a public hearing.

Modernist and Industrial Buildings

LPC protected 13 modernist buildings and four industrial historic districts as well as 10 standalone industrial buildings.

Staten Island

LPC increased the number of protected properties on Staten Island, adding 23 individual landmarks and the Stapleton Heights Historic District, the borough’s largest.